giovedì 10 maggio 2012

LUCOLI TOURISM AND ITS BASIC REFERENCES FOR OUR FOREIGN READERS

province of L'Aquila

Lucoli
Distance from provincial capital (Km): 16
Population: 978
Altitude: 956m
City Hall - telephone: 086273160
City Hall - Fax: 0862730790
Telephone of our Association - 00393489366586
Story
The country stands on the site once occupied by the Benedictine Abbey of S. John of Collimento, founded by Count Odorisio. The core is formed by the aggregation of many villas which were part of the county of L'Aquila. Later became a fief of the Colonna, and in 1610 by Marcantonio Palma. Pass' then under the Barberini. They were formerly famous for his marble quarries.
Nature, art, culture
Nestled in the valley of the river "Rio" the country is made ​​up of 17 villages. Among the monuments deserves the attention of the Parish of St. John the Baptist c. XII with sculptures depicting religious scenes, dating to 1500.
Sculpture of the main altar of the Abbey
Fresco of the Annunciation
The town is a starting point for many hikes in the surrounding mountains. The territory of Lucoli for lovers of botanical species is a true paradise.
Festivals and Events
June 24 Feast of St. John
August 10: Feast of St. Lorenzo

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento